Company wants woman to cut her dreadlocks off

24 Oct

So….can we get rid of the guy with the Mullet that eats Cheetos at his desk, too? These instances of discrimination showcase the absurd demands of employers. I understand that businesses have dress code policies but if you are well-groomed and your hair is not causing a safety hazard then I don’t think an employer should discriminate against you. Period. Long Live the Locs.

FOX2now.com

[ooyala code=”15d2Q3Zzr86JDKBar0bs6EigCqtj8SAR” player_id=”c660b791c3704ff69d4162d7adb7c4a1″]

ST. PETERS, MO (KTVI)– 24-year-old Ashley Davis loves her dreadlocks and has been growing them for more than 10 years. Everyone in her family has dreadlocks and she says dreds are a part of her culture and identity. Davis was shocked when a manager at Tower Loan in St. Peters said her hairstyle was no longer acceptable and was told to cut it. Davis refuses to change her hairstyle, the same style she wore when hired.

“My worst nightmare is I wake up and all of my hair is gone. As far as cutting it goes, no way it’s like cutting me open I can`t do it. My supervisor saw me two weeks after she hired me and said I was doing a great job,” said Davis.

The new company policy says dreadlocks, braids, mohawks, mullets and other hairstyles are against company guidelines. The new policy was…

View original post 158 more words

One Response to “Company wants woman to cut her dreadlocks off”

  1. Da Realist 1 October 29, 2013 at 4:50 pm #

    This business about banning “mullets” was an attempt to make people think that these hair restrictions were not about race. As Rev. Al would say, “Nice try, but we got ya!” I wish I knew what happened with this story.

Leave a Reply

